Charged With a DUI in NJ this Halloween? Here is What You Should Know.

Charged With a DUI in NJ this Halloween? Here is What You Should Know.

Most of us agree that Halloween is among the most exciting holidays and enjoy going out to celebrate. If you are someone who decided to drive while intoxicated and have been charged, you need the assistance of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney who can effectively challenge your charges. In New Jersey, you can expect to face very serious penalties for a DUI, even if it is only your first offense. Please continue reading and contact our firm to learn more about the consequences of first offense DUIs in New Jersey. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I receive a first-offense DUI with a Blood Alcohol Content between .08% and .10%?

  • You may face up to 30 days of incarceration
  • You will have to forfeit your driver’s license until the Ignition Interlock device is installed
  • You will be required to install an Ignition Interlock device for three (3) months
  • You will be required to spend a minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  • You will be charged a fine between $250 and $400
  • You will incur an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three (3) years

What are the penalties for a DUI with a BAC between .10% and .15% in New Jersey?

  • You may face up to 30 days of jail time
  • You will have to forfeit your driver’s license until the Ignition Interlock device is installed
  • You will be required to install an Ignition Interlock device for seven (7) to twelve (12) months
  • You will be required to spend a minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
  • You will be charged a fine between $300 and $500
  • You will incur an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three (3) years

What happens if I receive a DUI with a BAC over .15%?

For a first-offense DUI with a BAC over .15%, you will most likely face a 6-month license suspension, have to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to 18 months, and be subjected to various fines and fees.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

We understand how confusing certain legal issues can be, which is why we are dedicated to providing individuals with the compassionate, knowledgeable legal representation they deserve. Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman has helped clients with various difficult legal challenges for over 40 years, which is why we know we have the experience needed to do the same for you. For experienced legal counsel regarding family law, litigation, business law, real estate, and criminal law, you know where to turn–contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.

Explore More Of Our Latest Blog Posts