Underage DWIs in New Jersey | What You Should Know

Underage DWIs in New Jersey | What You Should Know

DWI charges in New Jersey are incredibly serious for all offenders. You must be at least 21 years of age to purchase, possess or consume alcoholic beverages in New Jersey. Underage drinking is illegal and can have severe consequences for young people who drink and for adults who provide alcoholic beverages to those under 21. If you are under 21, drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system (.01 BAC or above), and are convicted for violating New Jersey’s zero tolerance law, you can expect to face serious consequences as well. Please continue reading and speak with our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about underage DWIs, the penalties you may face if charged with one, and how our firm can help you through every step of the process ahead. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What is Blood Alcohol Content?

Blood alcohol content, or BAC, is the measurement that determines whether an individual is intoxicated. Oftentimes, when a police officer suspects an individual of driving while under the influence of alcohol, that person will be subject to chemical testing, usually in the form of a breathalyzer test. For those over the age of 21, if they are found to have a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher, they will receive a DWI. However, if you are under the age of 21 and are caught with a BAC of .01%-.08%, you will most likely face DWI charges, as the state’s standard for underage drivers is higher than for those who are over the age of 21.

What are the penalties for underage DWIs in New Jersey?

There are various penalties you may face for an underage DWI with a blood alcohol content between .01% and .08% in New Jersey. Some of those penalties are as follows:

  • Loss or postponement of driving privileges for 30 to 90 days;
  • 15-30 days of community service;
  • Referral to an IDRC or participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program.

If you are facing underage DWI charges, it is critical that you retain the services of a knowledgeable Bergen County criminal defense attorney as soon as possible –contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

We understand how confusing certain legal issues can be, which is why we are dedicated to providing individuals with the compassionate, knowledgeable legal representation they deserve. Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman has helped clients with various difficult legal challenges for over 40 years, which is why we know we have the experience needed to do the same for you. For experienced legal counsel regarding family law, litigation, business law, real estate, and criminal law, you know where to turn–contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.

Explore More Of Our Latest Blog Posts