What Happens if I am Charged With Marijuana Possession in New Jersey?

What Happens if I am Charged With Marijuana Possession in New Jersey?

Though in recent months, New Jersey has moved towards the decriminalization and potential legalization of the recreational use of marijuana, as of now, you may face serious penalties if you are caught illegally possessing or selling the drug. Please continue reading and reach out to our experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the penalties for the sale/use of marijuana and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

Will I go to jail if I am caught in possession of marijuana in NJ?

If you are charged with marijuana possession in New Jersey, you face a wide array of penalties. Those penalties, based upon the amount of marijuana in your possession and where you are found in possession, are as follows:

  • 50 grams or less: This is a disorderly person penalty, for which you may spend up to 6 months in jail, as well as face a potential $1,000 fine.
  • More than 50 grams: Possession of more than 50 grams is a crime, and you may face up to 1.5 years in jail and a $25,000 fine.
  • Within 1,000 feet of a school: If you are caught possessing marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school, you can expect 100 hours of community services to be added to your sentence.

Will I go to jail for selling marijuana in New Jersey?

New Jersey courts take the illegal sale of marijuana very seriously. Therefore, depending on the amount of marijuana sold, where the sale occurs, and who you are selling to, you may face the following consequences:

  • Less than 1 ounce: Up to 1.5 years of jail time, and a potential $25,000 fine.
  • Between 1 ounce and 5 pounds: Up to 5 years of jail time, and a potential $25,000 fine.
  • Between 5 and 25 pounds: Up to 10 years of incarceration, and a potential $150,000 fine
  • More than 25 pounds: Up to 20 years of incarceration, and a potential $300,000 fine.
  • The sale or distribution of marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school or school bus: Up to 5 years in jail, and a potential $150,000 fine.
  • The distribution of marijuana to a pregnant woman or a minor: You will most likely have your sentence doubled.

Rather obviously, if you do not retain the services of an experienced Bergen County criminal defense attorney, you run the risk of facing legal consequences and a criminal record that can follow you for the rest of your life. We are here to fight for your rights. All you have to do is ask.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

We understand how challenging various legal issues can be, which is why we are dedicated to providing individuals with the compassionate, knowledgeable legal representation they deserve. Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman has helped clients through the various legal matters for over 40 years, which is why we know we have the experience needed to do the same for you. For powerful legal counsel regarding family law, litigation, business law, real estate, and criminal law, you know where to turn–contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.

Explore More Of Our Latest Blog Posts