What Happens if I Get a DUI in New Jersey?

What Happens if I Get a DUI in New Jersey?

Although driving under the influence is both dangerous and illegal, people still do it. While we understand that a lapse in judgment does not make you a bad person, New Jersey courts will still seek to impose harsh punishment upon those convicted of driving under the influence. Please read on and reach out to our experienced team of New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the consequences of a first-offense DUI and how we can help defend you. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DUI with a Blood Alcohol Content (“BAC”) between .08% and .10%?

First-time offenders face the following consequences when charged with a DUI with a BAC between .08% and .10%:

  • Up to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Drivers Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Loss of driver’s license until the ignition interlock device is installed
  • Installation of an ignition interlock for 3 months
  • Up to a $500 fine
  • A $125 DWI surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF surcharge
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 for SNSF
  • $50 for VCCO

What happens if I am arrested with a BAC between .10% and .15% in New Jersey?

If you have been arrested for a DUI with a BAC between .10% and .15%, you will face the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • A $125 DWI Surcharge
  • A $100 DDEF Surcharge
  • Up to $33 in court costs
  • $75 to the SNSF
  • $50 to the VCCO
  • Up to 48 hours in the IDRC
  • Up to 30 days of incarceration
  • Forfeiture of your driver’s license until you have the ignition interlock device installed
  • Mandatory use of the ignition interlock device for 7 months to 1 year

How long will I lose my license if I am arrested with a BAC higher than .15%?

If you are convicted of a first-offense DUI with a BAC over .15%, the Court may impose a license suspension of up to six months, as well as require you to install and use the ignition interlock device for up to 15 months after your license is restored. Of course, these penalties are in addition to fines and other penalties, which is why you cannot afford to go through the process without an experienced New Jersey DUI attorney on your side. Fortunately, we are here to help you fight these charges and to have them mitigated, and, in some cases, dismissed altogether.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman has helped numerous clients through difficult legal matters for over 40 years, which is why we know that we have the experience necessary to do the same for you. For a powerful criminal defense attorney who is ready to fight for your rights, you know where to turn–contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.

Explore More Of Our Latest Blog Posts