What Happens if I Get a DWI With a CDL in New Jersey?

What Happens if I Get a DWI With a CDL in New Jersey?

There are few things more dangerous than driving under the influence of alcohol. Unfortunately, many people make the mistake of getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle after having a few drinks, and oftentimes, they end up paying for it in court. That being said, those who are caught driving while under the influence with a commercial driver’s license will most likely face even harsher penalties than those who received DWIs with standard licenses. Please continue reading and speak with our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about what happens when someone receives a DWI with a CDL in New Jersey. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I get a DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

First, you should understand that a BAC of just .04% is considered driving while intoxicated in connection with a CDL. If you are found to have a BAC of .04% while operating a commercial vehicle, you will lose your standard driver’s license for three months, and may face the following penalties:

  • Loss of your CDL for 1 year
  • Fines between $250-$400
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Participation in an IDRC for between 12-48 hours

What happens if I get a DWI with a CDL and my BAC is High

If you are found to have a blood alcohol content of .10% or higher while operating a commercial vehicle, you will face even harsher penalties. You will lose your CDL for one year, your standard license will be suspended for a period of 7 months to 1 year, and you will also face the following penalties:

  • Fines between $300-$500
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Participation in an IDRC for between 12-48 hours

What happens if I get a second DWI with a CDL in New Jersey?

Not only do you risk facing serious criminal penalties for a second DWI with a CDL, but your livelihood is also on the line, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney on your side. The penalties for a second DWI with a CDL are as follows:

  • You will have your CDL permanently revoked
  • You will lose your standard driver’s license for 2 years
  • You will face a potential $1,000 fine
  • You will face anywhere between 48 hours-90 days in jail
  • You will have to complete 30 days of community service
  • You will have to spend between 12-48 hours in an IDRC

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

We understand how confusing certain legal issues can be, which is why we are dedicated to providing individuals with the compassionate, knowledgeable legal representation they deserve. Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman has helped clients with various difficult legal challenges for over 40 years, which is why we know we have the experience needed to do the same for you. For experienced legal counsel regarding family law, litigation, business law, real estate, and criminal law, you know where to turn–contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.

Explore More Of Our Latest Blog Posts