What Happens if I am Convicted of Burglary in New Jersey?

Facing burglary charges can be overwhelming. You risk years of incarceration, high fines, and more. This is why you must continue reading and reach out to our Hackensack criminal law attorneys to learn more about burglary charges in New Jersey and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What Happens if I am Convicted of Burglary in New Jersey?

How is burglary defined under New Jersey law?

The first thing you should understand about burglary is that it is different from robbery. Burglary is defined as when a person enters any structure without permission and with the intention of committing a crime. To prove someone is guilty of burglary, it must be demonstrated that the person intended to commit a crime, such as one of theft.

Breaking into a person’s house while they’re on vacation to steal jewelry, for example, is considered an act of burglary. You should note, however, that you may be charged with burglary even if you did not yet commit a crime; as long as the court can prove intent was there, you will most likely face burglary charges.

What to Know About Upgraded Burglary Charges in NJ

Understand that there are different levels of burglary. For example, if you either threatened to injure, attempted to injure, or actually harmed a person while committing an act of burglary, you will most likely face aggravated burglary charges, which entails even harsher penalties than standard burglary charges. Having a deadly weapon in your possession while committing a burglary can also warrant aggravated burglary charges.

What happens if I am found guilty of burglary in New Jersey?

As you can imagine, those facing burglary charges risk a wide array of consequences that can significantly affect their lives in the long term. Some of the consequences you may face for burglary charges in New Jersey are as follows:

Third-degree burglary: Anywhere between three and five years of incarceration and a potential $15,000 fine.
Second-degree aggravated burglary: Anywhere between five and ten years of incarceration and a potential $150,000 fine.

The bottom line is that if you are facing charges of burglary or even the possession or manufacturing of burglary tools, you need our competent Bergen County criminal law attorneys on your side. Give us a call today to learn about how we can help you.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

We understand how confusing certain legal issues can be, which is why we are dedicated to providing individuals with the compassionate and knowledgeable legal representation they deserve. Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman has helped clients with various difficult legal challenges for over 40 years. We know we have the experience needed to do the same for you. For experienced legal counsel regarding family law, litigation, business law, real estate, and criminal law, you know where to turn–contact Aronsohn, Weiner, Salerno & Kaufman today to schedule a consultation.